Blog Archives

BSP Bad Boys – Ada leads the Rutting Stags, Mardy Mariners, tough Hydes, Hatters,Dragons & Bucks

Take a bow Ada of Ebbsfleet who is keeping Mansfield’s Roberts – rutting stag extraordinaire – from the top of the bad boys league. Grimsby Town have two in the top ten, as do Mansfield although Beevers has amassed four yellows, one of which counted as red. It is nice to see that Wrexham’s fire breathing  Dragon Jay Harris has not lost his touch too. As we say in Lincolnshire a toast to the art of the pheasant pluckers who ensnare with flair.

Welcome to the BSP Bad boys Thank you for reading Neil Gentleman-Hobbs.

A tough challenge is part and parcel of the people’s game,  very much in the eye of the beholder. Or should that be beholden as many, on a serious note, are left to count the cost.  The officials do not help, some collect cards like confetti whilst others miss more than a sack the juggler keeper wearing Teflon gloves. Their consistency is as fickle of that of a fan, who well smile when justice is served for, but be out of their seat when the case goes against.  But the BSP would miss the midfield marauders, the old school full-backs and the centre-half hard-men chiselled from stone.  So let us take a look at the runners and riders in the race for the BSP hob nail boot award.

Player Team Yellow Red Card Count
1st Patrick Ada Ebbsfleet United 3 2 7
2nd Gary Roberts Mansfield Town 4 1 6
3rd Liam Tomsett Hyde 3 1 5
  Jay Harris Wrexham 3 1 5
5th James Marwood Gateshead 2 1 4
  Aswad Thomas Grimsby Town 4 0 4
  John Nolan Stockport County 2 1 4
  Phil Trainer AFC Telford United 4 0 4
  Lee Beevers Mansfield Town 2 1 4
  Derek Niven Grimsby Town 4 0 4

STMI count a red as two yellows. On this basis there are 15 players just one yellow off of the top 10.  Looking at the familiar faces below, it wont be long before one of the anything but angelic assassins launches themselves into the top ten.

11th Liam Bellamy Ebbsfleet United 1 1 3
  Shaun Pearson Grimsby Town 3 0 3
  Nathan Rooney AFC Telford United 3 0 3
  Johnny Hunt Wrexham 3 0 3
  Andy Pearson Hyde 1 1 3
  James Owen Barrow 3 0 3
  Omar Koroma Forest Green Rovers 1 1 3
  Lloyd Kerry Tamworth 3 0 3
  Matthew Green Mansfield Town 1 1 3
  Theo Streete Alfreton Town 3 0 3
  Richie Baker Barrow 3 0 3
  Sean Marks Braintree Town 1 1 3
  Tommy Wright Tamworth 1 1 3
  Kieran Charnock Macclesfield Town 3 0 3
Dean Keates Wrexham 3 0 3