Wrexham FC in Focus

The Dragons Doge, Andy Morrell,  has brought in just 3 thus far: Striker Brett Ormerod (Blackpool FC); Keeper Coughlin (Tranmere Rovers); plus defender Martin Riley (Kidderminster Harriers). With Pogba leaving for Crewe, Tolley to Mansfield Town and Knight-Purcival to Peterborough United, is this a case of ‘don’t mend what aint broke’ or a tit for tat policy based around balancing the books.   Outgoing CEO Dave Roberts has left having made big progress, despite last seasons second placed side failing to go up, but you feel the three fees received will be used in part for Ormerod’s salary, but in the main to reduce the Dragons shortening annual deficit. 

thanks for reading Neil Gentleman-Hobbs

Wrexham FC.png

STMI takes a look at The Cardinals.  Here are Ticket prices for all BSP Away supporters prices , the BSP ground guide is here and please feel free to bookmark our  Blue square zone for when you are playing the Imps – HERE. The guide will start with the preseason results, transfers in & out, plus the released and new deals list. Then we will have a glance at the  summer sound-bites (most recent to last) and finally the current confirmed squad as at 6th August. 

Wrexham FC.png Pre-season form

Aberystwyth Town 1 Wrexham 2
Wrexham 3 Kilmarnock 1
Vauxhall Motors 1 Wrexham 2
Bala 1 Wrexham 3
Wrexham 1 Blackpool 2 
Wrexham 4 Coventry City 1
Wrexham Res 1 AEK Athens 3
Altrincham 1 Wrexham 1

Wrexham FC.png
 Transfer dealings

IN- Keeper Andy Coughlin (ex Tranmere Youth)
IN- Defender Martin Riley from Kidderminster
OUT- Mathias Pogba to Crewe (compensation)
Out Jake Speight to Mansfield (undisc fee)
IN- Brett Ormerod from Blackpool.
OUT- Jamie Tolley to Mansfield
OUT-Knight-Purcival to Peterborough

Released – Chris Maxwell, Obi Anoruo, Max Penk and Steven Leslie
New deals agreed – 1 year deals for captain Dean Keates, Rob Ogleby,John Hunt, Glen Little, Declan Walker, Leon Clowes and Nick Rushton.

6 month deals for Joe Clarke & Jamie Tolley who declined and went to Mansfield.

Contracted – Keeper Mayebi, Neil Ashton, Mark Creighton, Jay Harris, Adrian Csieslewicz, Danny Wright, Jake Speight, Chris Westwood, Jay Colbeck and manager Andy Morrell

Wrexham FC.png The Kop’s Summer sound-bites

(Most recent first) Dragons linked with Fleetwood midfielder Danny Rose. Trialist goalkeeper Andy Coughlin signs a 1 year deal. Chief executive David Roberts will be stepping down at the end of July. Morrell joins Gills in chase for 44 goal hot-shot Damian Reeves and should offer trialist keeper Coughlin a deal. Former Kidderminster Harriers defender Martin Riley has signed for Wrexham on a one-year contract.

Wrexham FC.png

Simon Hackney and goalkeeper Andy Coughlin are on trial. Former striker Obi Anoruo signs for Barrow.Blackpool friendly confirmed. Buoyed by two transfer fees Morrell confirms interest in McPhee and Altrincham striker Damian Reeves but dismisses speculation over Jason Koumas. Former Coventry City midfielder Kevin Thornton is currently on trial. Mathias Pogba has gone to Crewe, as he has turned down a new deal the Dragons will be due compensation under the U24 rules. Two live TV games, Grimsby Town (H)on Saturday, 25/8 KO 5.15pm and Stockport (A) Wednesday 10/10 KO 7.45pm.

Wrexham FC.png

Brett Ormerod joins after refusing a new deal at Blackpool with Bury also interested Morrell is also hoping for a friendly game. 1800 season tickets sold by June 30th with the club stemming the annual loss to £200k. Stephen Wright has signed an extention but released keeper Chris Maxwell has joined Fleetwood Town on a free transfer. Wrexham cannot play in the Welsh Cup this season after just one season back in the competition. UEFA, European football’s governing body, ruled earlier this year that clubs in the English pyramid leagues are not allowed to represent Wales in Europe.

Wrexham FC.png

Morrell confident he can secure the services of Mathias Pogba for another year or two. Three first year pro’s penned one-year deals – Jamie Morton, Steve Tomassen and Anthony Stephens. Les Speed RIP. Racecourse to become fully non-smoking stadium. Mickey Thomas feels Kop should reopen after 4 years. Mark Creighton and Nat Knight-Percival make BSP team of the year.

Wrexham FC.png



1 Joslain Mayebi, 13 Andy Coughlin

Wrexham FC.png

2 Stephen Wright, 3 Neil Ashton, 5 Mark Creighton, 6 Martin Riley, 18 Declan Walker, 20 Leon Clowes, 23 Chris Westwood,

Wrexham FC.png


7 Adrian Cieslewicz, 8 Jay Harris, 12 Dean Keates (Captain), 14 Joe Clarke, 16 Johnny Hunt 17 Glen Little, 21 Jay Colbeck,

Wrexham FC.png

9 Danny Wright, 10 Brett Ormerod, 11 Andrew Morrell, 15 Robert Ogleby, 19 Nick Rushton

Posted on August 9, 2012, in Blue Square Premier Squads & Transfers 2012-13, Blue Square zone, Writers - Neil Gentleman-Hobbs and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: