Mansfield Town Focus

Cox has invested heavily bringing in 11 so far: 5 in defence – George Pilkington (Luton Town), Luke Jones (Kidderminster) Lee Beevers (Walsall), John Dempster (Crawley)  and  Andy Owens (Southport); 4 in midfield Godfrey Poku from (Luton)  Jamie Tolley (Wrexham) Jamie Hand (Hayes) and Chris Clements  (Hednesford); plus two strikers Nick Wright (Kidderminster) and Jake Speight (Wrexham).  The manager has signed a two year  in the knowledge that ambitious chairman John Radford sees Championship football as the ultimate goal and is willing and able to fund the ride. 

thanks for reading Neil Gentleman-Hobbs


STMI takes a look at The Stags, another side who will certainly be there or thereabouts this season.  Here are Ticket prices for all BSP Away supporters prices , the BSP ground guide is here and please feel free to bookmark our  Blue square zone for when you are playing the Imps – HERE. The guide will start with the preseason results, transfers in & out, plus the released and new deals list. Then we will have a glance at the  summer sound-bites (most recent to last) and finally the current confirmed squad as at 6th August. 

Logo Friendlies

A Leamington W 0-1
A Hednesford Town W 0-2
A Gainsborough Trinity D 0-0 
A Hucknall Town (Stags XI) W 3-0 
H Derby County W 2-1
H Nottm For W 2-1
A Eastwood Town W 3-0
A Rainworth Miners Welfare (Stags XI) L 0-3
A Boston United W 2-1
H Rotherham United L 2-3

Logo Transfer dealings

OUT- Martin Riley to Wrexham
IN- Defender John Dempster from Crawley. 
IN- Midfielder Jamie Hand from Hayes
IN- striker Jake Speight from Wrexham
IN- LB Andy Owens from Southport 
IN – RB & CB Lee Beevers joins from Walsall
IN- central midfielder Godfrey Poku from Luton
IN- centre-half George Pilkington from Luton. 
OUT- Adam Smith to Lincoln City
OUT- Luke O’Neill to Burnley (undisclosed)
IN- Centre-half Luke Jones from Kidderminster
IN- Striker Nick Wright from Kidderminster
IN- Midfielder Chris Clements from Hednesford .
IN- Midfielder Jamie Tolley from Wrexham

Released list – Matt Bell, Sam Craven, Joe Kendrick, Danny Mitchley, Adam Smith, Jon Worthington.  Rhys Day has retired
Offered New deals – Ross Dyer, Anthony Howell, Ben Hutchinson, Alan Marriott, Lindon Meikle, Luke O’Neill, Matt Rhead, Martin Riley (opted for Wrexham), Ritchie Sutton, Andy Todd (as player-coach)
Still under contract for 2012/13 – Paul Bolland, Louis Briscoe, Matt Green, Adam Murray, Gary Roberts, Lee Stevenson, John Thompson

Logo Summer sound- bites

(Most recent first)  Cox makes move for Daniels (STMI scoop 17/7) Benefactor and Chairman John Radford has invested £2,528,826 since taking over the club almost two years ago. Defender John Dempster and midfielder Jamie Hand join. Cox looking at Macc duo Colin Daniels & Nat Brown. Chairman to do fans forum and Paul and Tina Broughton join in a dual role as Operations Directors.


Former defender Martin Riley has signed for Wrexham on a one-year contract. Two live TV games Dartford (A) now Fri 26/10 KO 7.45 and Luton (H) Thurs 15/11 KO 7.45. Striker Jake Speight returns as Stags agree undisclosed fee with Wrexham. Player-assistant boss Adam Murray set to miss start of season after ankle operation. Left-back Andy Owens signs from Southport and former Lincoln right-back Lee Beevers joins from Walsall. Adam Murray is new assistant-manager whilst Adam Smith joins the Imps.


Keeper Shane Redmond has extended his stay for a further season but Paul Cox is still waiting to hear from defender Martin Riley after offering him a new contract. 4 youth players Joel Holland, Scott Rogers, Jobe Shaw and Adam Somes have been promoted to the first team. Luke O’Neill leaves for Burnley for an undisclosed fee. Two new faces as Luke Jones & Nick Wright join from Harriers. This cools interest in Ben Purkiss who has been offered an improved deal at Hereford. Four Directors quit the Stags board. Steve Hymas, Steve Middleton, Andy Saunders and Darren Bland.  18/5 Paul Cox signs 2 year deal

Stags Squad


1 Alan Marriott, 23 Shane Redmond,



2 Richie Sutton, 3 John Thompson, 4 John Dempster 5 Luke Jones, 15 Andy Owens 17 Lee Beevers, 30 Jobe Shaw



7 Lindon Meikle, 11 Louis Briscoe, 13 Anthony Howell, 14 Chris Clements, 18 Gary Roberts 19 Jamie Hand, 20 Jamie Tolley, 21 Adam Murray, 22 Godfrey Poku 24 Andy Todd, 26 Lee Stevenson, 28 Joel Holland 29 Scott Rogers



8 Jake Speight, 12 Nick Wright, 10 Matt Green, 16 Matt Rhead,  9 Ross Dyer, 25 Ben Hutchinson, 27 Adam Somes,

Posted on August 8, 2012, in Blue Square Premier Squads & Transfers 2012-13, Blue Square zone, Writers - Neil Gentleman-Hobbs and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: